top of page
  • Reem Zahran

Vacation or Lost Motivation?

Updated: Mar 6, 2021

“I look around at us and you know what I see? Losers… I mean like, folks who have lost motivation.” – Peter Quill, Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)


Alas, we’re online again and I can’t be the only one that has zero motivation to actually work. It’s almost like being at home sucked any productivity I had (which really wasn’t much to begin with). The increasing workload from teachers isn’t helping at all because the day still has only 24 hours and, fun fact, I’m no superhuman! Since we’re all in this together, here are some ways to stay productive, especially with exam season fast approaching. We need to keep our heads in the game!


Getting rid of any distractions is, by far, the most effective way to be productive and more motivated to work. I know, I know, we’ve all heard this a million times and quite frankly became numb to it, but it is the main reason why we lose motivation in the first place. We’ve all been in that situation where we’re sitting through a class and receive a notification. Now, it goes one of two ways: you either pick up the phone to check what it is or you decide to do the right thing and ignore it...but then curiosity gets the best of you and you open it anyway. I kid you not when I say that those 3 dots are an accurate representation of the amount of self-control I have - not something I’m proud of.


We’ve taken a step in the right direction now that we’ve acknowledged the roots of the problem. The solution is quite simple, actually. The most obvious thing to do is to mute all social media or things that could possibly make you lose focus and it is very effective in some cases. However, I still find myself picking up my phone. Sometimes putting your phone away altogether helps but at the end of the day, it’s really just about self control.


I can’t remember the number of times I was so tempted to stay in bed and work from there but when I gave in I was unproductive to say the least. Our brains don’t associate a bed as a workspace, which is why having a designated place to work and attend classes plays a significant part in staying focused at home. When we’re transitioning to work from home our environment is disrupted, and as a result it becomes so important to set up a workspace with items we associate only with school. Having household items directly in our line of sight or on the table next to where we’re working can distract us, taking us out of a working mindset and into our home mindset. Therefore, it’s important to surround ourselves with items that will cue our brains helping us be as productive as possible. If there are sticky notes or pens you use while in school, make sure to have those nearby. It’s also important to stay consistent because consistency helps the brain pick up on the environment to determine where to focus.


Although study groups are great, they’re not for everyone. Some people find it better when they study on their own, but may lack the motivation. From personal experience I have found that having a friend work with me has been enough incentive to get started. Try setting a task, such as solving specific Classified pages within a time span with a friend who you know will keep you on track. This way, you’re both working independently but still offer each other the support and encouragement that you need to continue.


You know, I think it's quite hypocritical of me to write this article exactly 40 minutes before its due while in bed. Yeah, I think there’s no hope left for me but hey I started 10 minutes earlier than usual! Progress? Not so sure, I guess old habits really do die hard.

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

CES Talent Show (Talent Show tips for achieving 1st place)

Preparation and time management are vital! It's truly never too early to begin planning. Rehearsal is the secret to putting together a terrific act that will help you nail the audition and break the h

bottom of page